Manias & The Madness Of Crowds

It was Charles Mackay’s “Memoirs Of Extraordinary Popular Delusions & The Madness Of Crowds” published in 1841 which provided an intellectual earnest to meaningfully reflect on local and international manias, their lethal destructive capacity in destroying both individual lives and civilizations.

Mackay’s book is still regarded as the finest literary grasp of the limits of reason when overwhelmed by passion.  His only rival is Elias Canetti’s “Crowds & Power”.

Elias Canetti’s childhood experience of witnessing the burning of Vienna in 1927 became a lifelong earnest from which to draw insights regarding the imaginative study of mass movements within disintegrating cultures. Hitler, Fascism, romantic movements and the fierce ideologies that dominated the second half of the 20th century were his forte.

About William Holland

Systematic Theologian/International Relations
This entry was posted in Charles Mackay's Delusions & Mania's, Elias Canetti and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Manias & The Madness Of Crowds

  1. Superb posting, I share the same views. I wonder why this particular world truly does not picture for a moment like me and also the blog site creator 😀

  2. 床墊 says:

    Excellent piece of writing, l quite agree with your submission. I will subscribe to your rss to keep up.

  3. 蛙鏡 says:

    You precisely saved me atleast 1 hour of time. I am making a project in this particular topic and your contribute has helped me through one of the topics of my project. I will browse to the other pages now.

  4. 蛙鏡 says:

    Excellent post, l quite agree with your conclusion. However lam having problem subscribing to your rss.

Comments are closed.